Travelling as an Interracial Couple

A short post about how we get treated around the world…

Screen Shot 2017-04-22 at 22.32.45First of all, I’d just like to say that I hate using the phrase ‘interracial relationship’, as it’s just like any other relationship. You don’t go around saying that two white people are in a ‘nonracial relationship’ do you?

Anyways, my boyfriend and I have been travelling for a couple of years now. So far, we have visited a total of 8 countries across Africa, America, Asia and Europe. Every place we adventure to is beautiful in its own way, and each country we land in seems to react slightly differently.

I must stress that these views are from my own personal encounters. My objective for this post is to simply share my experiences.

xx14291920_10207056474746429_6080458691123043668_n
As you can see I am a white British female, and he is a (beautiful) British Bengali male.

Countries Which Accepted Us…

Germany

This city was so open-minded in every way. We loved this city and had no hassles with our interracial relationship once. If you visit here, you will feel how much acceptance is in the city’s atmosphere and vibe.

Portugal

On the beaches of the Algarve, nobody batted an eye lid. Everybody was so kind here and accepts everyone so we felt very welcomed.

Thailand

We did not feel excluded once here by any locals or tourists. It was a nice relaxing holiday and we went about just being ourselves.

United Arab Emirates

To follow the law, we obviously didn’t hold hands or make it look like we in a relationship in any way incase we got arrested! As we went through our time there looking like just friends, neither of us felt like we were being looked at in any way, shape or form which was nice.

United Kingdom

My home country. Neither of us have ever felt threatened in our relationship. From the big city of London, to the quiet hills of the Lake District.

United States of America

New York, one of the most open-minded places in the world, were you can be yourself and never get judged at all. As we got off the tube one day, an older man complimented us saying that we were a ‘beautiful couple”. I suppose that was the only day that I actually did my hair but anyways…We were greatly accepted.

Zambia

If anything, it seemed like Miz was being applauded for having a ‘white girl.’ While walking around a shopping mall a man actually said to him, “She’s beautiful, well done.” It’s weird hearing compliments like this – I was being talked about rather than being talked to. I suppose this just shows how women are inferior to men in this country.

Countries Which Didn’t Seem As Open-minded…

Denmark

Neither of us received verbal abuse or anything. We just got looks, and quite often at that. More specifically, the locals seemed to look at me – the white female – as if to say ‘why are you dating a brown man?’ That negativity just made me want to stand a little taller, hold his hand a little firmer and smile at him even bigger.

Sweden

The same as Denmark really, but I suppose the looks weren’t as frequent or as obvious. Many people in Malmö didn’t look at us, but I believed a lot of people still did in comparison to other countries I’ve visited such as Germany, Thailand and Zambia.


2 thoughts on “Travelling as an Interracial Couple

  1. This is such an interesting post! I get what you mean about disliking the term ‘Interracial relationship’. My boyfriend is of Indian heritage and we have had a couple of disheartening moments while travelling. For example, he gets searched at the airport every. single. time. And they just let me walk straight through. We also got so many stares in South Korea.

    If only everyone could just be accepting!

    Ali x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, in all our travels I’ve only been stopped once, every other time he’s been searched. I’m going to South Korea in a few weeks time so hopefully it’s not too bad! Thank you for your interest! X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

